National 12 - find out more...

National 12 register

Started by sam_N12, 06 Feb 2006, 07:13

« previous - next »

sam_N12

Hi,

My dad's just bought an old GRP national12 and he wants to know what it is!?!?
Its sail number is 2712 and has wooden decks with a plastic hull.
Does anyone know what it might be or is there a register where I could find out what model it is?
It's been sold as a 'cobra' but we can't find any trace of a 'cobra' design anywhere :-/

Any information will be much apreciated

Thanks
SamD 3128

Richard

Hi N2712 is a Cobra and was called "Troubleshooter" it was built by Thames Services in '73. I'm no expert but I don't think many were built. The most popular new boats at that time were Paper Darts in GRP or Cheshire Cats in wood.
Richard N2134 :)

Antony (Guest)

Sam,
If either you or your Dad were to join the NTOA then you would receive a lot of pubilications about the history of the class and a list of boats with their designs, builders etc.  You would also be helping to fund work like keeping this website up and organinsing training and events.  

Contact details are above,
Antony
N3484

Dave Croft

Hi Sam,

Back in 1973 I was the proud owner of 2711 - a Cobra designed by Mal McDougal, hull built by Thames Services. The design came out about 6 months before Paper Dart and was quite similar - China Doll/ Whisper sort of shape underwater but with a smooth hull and quite wide (over 6ft if I remember correctly). The main problem (unlike Papaer Dart) was that the hulls were not foam constrution GRP and so were not stiff enough. The good news is that for an older boat it makes for easier repairs. The lack of stiffness made them slow off-wind and slow to plane. The other problem was that they didn't have a lot of feeboard and so were very wet up-wind in a chop. The wide beam didn't help much on the river or inland.