National 12 - find out more...

vintage kicking strap

Started by gary.h, 05 Apr 2008, 07:22

« previous - next »

gary.h

Hi there. Can anyone help? Im trying to sort out a kicking strap to fit my smuggler class 12.

But cant seem to find a suitable anchor point in the bilges. At the moment I have the key in the lower part of the boom thats ok. a nylon cord attatched to the base of the mast  runs up to a pulley anchored to this key  this then runs to a second pulley fastened to the base  of the mast again up via a fairlead and on to the boom to a jam cleat.
The system works on the trolley but will it prove to be safe & or effective on the water?
Having graduated from a really (really) old mirror which seemed to sail exactly the same however it was rigged i.e. slowly, I feel somewhat aprehensive with the amount of energy felt through the mainsheet.
:-/
Thanks gary.h

grazz

Hi Gary,

I'm no vintage expert but the following might help.

It's fine to attach the base of the kicker to base of the mast (this is how we have it in our modern 12). From your description it sounds like you have a 4:1 or 3:1 purchase which is only adjustable from inside the cockpit. On our 12 we have 16:1 purchase which is cleated on the thwart so is adjustable whilst sat on the side (very handy for adjusting upwind and downwind for that matter).  The sails on your vintage are a lot more powerful than a mirror so well worth adding more purchases, you could try 8:1 first.  Are you able to add some pulleysto route the ropes so it is adjustable from the side? Also Make sure you use kevlar or spectra non stretch rope.

Let us know how your sail goes?

PS where about do you sail

Happy sailing

Graham

Derek

As Graham says, 8:1 is really a minimum to be able to adjust your leech tension and so get the best out of your rig.
Boats of this vintage often had a winch screwed to the hog with a simple wire from the winch to the boom and a single cleat on the front of the plate case.