National 12 - find out more...

Hi :)

Started by Chilli, 28 May 2015, 05:44

« previous - next »

Chilli

Hi :) 
I'm totally new to N12's having sailing only briefly in a Feeling Foolish :( this is about to totally change after the N!2 community on facebook told me to contact Tom Stewart :) and what ensued was prolly the most expensive 15minutes that i've had in a long time LoL :)
So a Dead Cat Bounce is being ordered really soon -- the two problems that i initially had with it were how good is it ? i mean is it really as good as the reports (Tom Stewart says it's better when you know what you're doing ;)) and the pricetag - that was an owwwwwch moment cos i paid similar money for my Winder Fireball.  My current ride is a Rondar 420 which me and crew only like sailing when the wind is howling - the hull of the 420 creates so much drag at low wind speeds that it's hard to know sometimes if it's actually moving whereas the full on planing hull and full aft sections provide prolly the most stable planing platform that i've ever sailed - put her out in a F6/F7 + and she just flies :) whereas at anything less than F4 you might as well just pack up and go home.
so i ended up in N12 cos someone offered me ride and it was quick upwind and it was reasonably stable too which surprised me :) in terms of updates there's a few things that i can think of to change to give it a better ride and lose some of it's tippy nature but that's for another time :)
so yup come novermber 2015 with a bit of luck and a following wind me and my crew will be out n about in dead cat bounce prolly irish sea to start with cos few people go there so we can make a hash of it and not get noticed ;)

edwillett

Excellent News! Welcome Aboard! You wont regret it!
Cheers
Ed

Chadders

Hi.