National 12 - find out more...

Hello, is there any body out there?

Started by RogerBrisley, 31 Aug 2005, 11:27

« previous - next »

RogerBrisley

The recent mast weight discussion has been interesting,  (Yes Anonymous prats should keep away) but apart from some event reporting,  matters have tended to be slow and dull.  Not pointing fingers but where are the stimulating ideas flowing from"ermmm!" jimmy et al ?

There used to be a lot more going on......

I'm relatively new to the class and want to get a design 8 sorted,, so far i do not have any idea about where to start with tuning like how level (and what constitutes level) and whereto go from there.

Help

Roger

Antony (Guest)

Roger,
There is a 21 page downloadable (is that a word now?) tuning guide on this site.  On the front page top right go to 'About' and follow your nose through 'hints, tips etc'.  The tuning guide was extensively re-written recently with a lot of photos showing how to set a boat up as well as a table of numbers to aim for.

Have a go with the guide and make sure the boat is set up about right (spreaders, mast-bend, rake etc), then there is a technique guide that should help with how to sail the boat.. the key is to keep it flat.  

Obviously come back with questions if it does not work or make sense.

Have fun,
Antony

RogerBrisley

Anthony

Thanks for the reply.

I had already downloaded the Tuning guide but what eludes me presently is datum fore and aft trim particularly for a Design 8... i'm  currently obssessing (as my crew describes it) about mast rake.  Do the measurements in the guide refer to measurements taken with the top of the centre board casing being level ie with spirit level?  or does it refer to trim as I sail it and in which case is my normal  trim correct?  In this regard I'm obsessed with not having a rooster tail at the stern and thus trimming down at the bow.

Roger

Roly Mo

Roger