National 12 - find out more...

Complete beginners..Help!

Started by tony47492, 02 Jul 2009, 09:28

« previous - next »

tony47492

Hi all, recently bought a 12 via ebay and looking to learn how to use her. Sail number 1612 (yep, a nice wooden boat!), not sure if that is the genuine origional number though.......
After much Anglo Saxon, I have finally rigged the boat in my garden (dry run first so as not to make too much of a fool of myself!). But, Im struggling to understand how to use the kit, and, even after looking at many photos, I cant for the life of me work out how to rig the boom pulleys (sorry if terminology incorrect) ie pulley on the transom to the pulley on the end of the spar/boom, and, mucho Anglo Saxon as I cant for the life of me get the keel (daggerboard??) to drop down.........and scarily, its attatched to more pulleys and rope!! Beam me up Scotty....NOW!!:)
Please feel free to snigger uncontrolably ;D;D.........
I live in the South Lakes and notice there is a 12 meeting at Ullswater this weekend. Could anyone give me details please. Thanks in advance, Tony 

johnk

I am sure others will give more help but here is my 2p worth.

The hull number should be carved into the centre thwart or the transom. The N12 database shows 1612 to be a Proctor Mk 4A built in 1958.

The main sheet controls the mainsail and leads from your hand through a block on the transom up through a block at the end of the boom and down again to the block on the transom where it is fixed. This gives a 2 to 1 purchase.