National 12 - find out more...

Gybing Centerboard

Started by ifoxwell, 22 Feb 2010, 01:09

« previous - next »

ifoxwell

Hi all
We are looking around for our first 12...
3402 is for sale and has a Waller gybing Centerboard
Does any one know this boat or had any experiance of these boards?
Cheers
Ian

icecreamman

I do not know if it is of any use, but there is a good article in the Hornet association forms.
http://www.hornet.org.uk/forms/20051113104700centreboards.pdf
As they say it is part of the black arts, and whilst I understand some of it, I have never used a gybing centreboard. Good luck!!

samlaw

Only quickly scan read the document but as a physicist my initial interpretation is...

Don't think of it as the rotation the centreboard but a rotation of the hull to point in the actual direction it is travelling. First instinct would be that the main gain would be that the hull shape will work more as designed (no side ways flow of water against it) reducing drag.
The effect on the rudder is a seperate consideration.
I also suspect the "trim tabs" of DCB have made these obsolete anyway. Though have no idea of what exactly is meant by trim tabs, I assume some kind of flaps to make the CB a Assymetric rather than symetric foil to generate lift at 0 angle of attack.
N2743<br />

Antony (Guest)

Ian,