National 12 - find out more...

Help rigging 3110

Started by Timbmx5, 22 Nov 2017, 05:56

« previous - next »

Timbmx5

Hi Folks

I'm a newbie based in Merstham Surrey. I have just got my hands on my first National 12, Cerabus 3110 is a 1980 Tigress that has been a little neglected that last few years.
I need to give the decks a sand and revarnish but was hoping there would be someone fairly local who could give me some pointers on how to rig correctly and a base setup to work from?

Any help would be great fully received and I always have tea/coffee and biscuits in the workshop if anyone is nearby!

Thanks in advance
Tim

John m

Hi Tim

Congratulations on your purchase.  I remember sailing against this boat 20 years ago!

This link might be helpful to get you thinking about things.

http://www.national12.org/downloads/n12_starters_guide_v2.pdf

We are based in High Wycombe and have a Design 8 3320 which has a nice simple set up that you could come and have a look at if you want. 

To do things remotely, take a few photos of what the inside looks like and we can probably advise on quite a lot of things that way.

regards
John

Timbmx5

Hi John

Thanks for the reply and offer of a visit to look over 3320 for some pointers. I would definitely like to take you up on that at some point soon.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/euz0siqklmp7d07/National%2012-1.jpg?dl=0
I'm hoping I've put the link in here properly and you can see the image to give you an idea what I'm working with?

Kind regards
Tim

John m

Oh dear, she is in a bit of a mess...

working from the top of the picture down the starboard side...

The rope coming through the deck is a barber hauler.  the jib sheet passes through the ring and this allows the sheet to be trimmed more outboard.  Most people have dispensed with these in favour of a dangly pole.

The next cleat is for the barber hauler.  The cleat controls the line on the other side of the boat.