National 12 - find out more...

Please help me find my perfect 12 - 80's/90s, wooden deck

Started by Snomad, 07 Jun 2016, 12:45

« previous - next »

Snomad

This is my first post, although I have been spent plenty of time lurking on the website learning about 12s over the last month! I have to say I am impressed with how useful the website and particularly the boat database is.

My wife and I now have some time to dedicate to dinghy sailing and a 12 fits the bill I think.  We weigh 19 stone together; I have some experience whilst she is an energetic and enthusiastic novice.

I love the lines of the 1980s to late 1990s era National 12s, and hopefully it will help me scratch my wooden boat itch! A boat with built in buoyancy tanks would be great. That said I could also be tempted by a later foam sandwich boat with a wood deck.

We live in Wiltshire so local sailing will be on lakes, but we also plan to sail estuaries and protected coastal waters from time to time. An all rounder like a Crusader 88 or similar would be great.

Does anyone know of a suitable boat in good condition that might be available?

Were there many GRP boats built with wood decks?
Gavin

Crusader 3244

I am certainly with you on the era, and there are some fine examples of that pedigree still in existence.

Quite possibly there may be owners in your region who might be able to offer you a trial sail on a water near you . . .  and it certainly is worth one. The rig is typically powerful and in a boat whose waterline is just twelve feet that means that the ride can be full of surprises; there is a lot of fun to be had. Older boats can be a lot of fun for not much money.

Naturally the conditions play a big part and in the more testing conditions a good attitude to adopt is to enjoy the spills as much as the thrills. The thrills have surpassed all my expectations - as have several of my several spills!